Aimée Cartier—– *author *psychic *mom *wife *speaker *dabbler in comedy

FLOURISH BLOG: Providing tools and (true) stories for creating an inspired, intuitive life.

Make Your Own Mailbox Love: Now Accepting Goodness

20140624-141712-51432860.jpgI’ve had this idea for a while. I keep these kinds of ideas jotted down in a craft idea notebook I have simply because the idea having doesn’t always coincide with the time to do it.

I’ve wanted to do it to our mailbox. But I’m particular- I’ve wanted to first change the color of our mailbox and for me that would mean taking it down one Sunday (or more accurately getting my husband to) so I could first spray paint it. Then let it dry. Then paint these words on it. It has to be sunny to dry (not always available in the Northwest). And of course I have to have large block of time away from the kids.

In the meantime, last month I found the perfect opportunity to use the idea and make a birthday surprise for a friend.

Here’s how it went down. After my husband and the kids were settled in their bedroom for the bedtime ritual.  I set out on my bike, spray bottle of water and vinegar, rag, and permanent markers (the oil based Sharpie kind) in hand.

You can see the result.  I told myself that unless my girlfriend asked I would not tell her I did it. It took her about a week – but she finally narrowed it down to me.

Next up our mailbox… but as my mom says, “Don’t hold your breath.”  It could be another year or two.  However, if you decided to do this on yours please let me know– and send a pic if you can.  It would be so fun to see this spread around!

 

 

6 comments on “Make Your Own Mailbox Love: Now Accepting Goodness

  1. Sasha
    June 24, 2014

    What an adorable idea!! I really hope you end up doing yours (and posting a photo of the result)! 🙂

    • aimeecartier
      June 24, 2014

      I will. I will. When is the question. ! All in due time I suppose- like everything else!

      • Sasha
        June 25, 2014

        🙂

  2. Sue Slaght
    June 25, 2014

    I love that idea. It certainly would make the mailman smile. 🙂

  3. jorja40
    June 29, 2014

    I once made a mailbox out of timber. It was a giraffe. The body was the box. My mailman wasn’t amused lol. You have inspired me to make another. Thank you

    • aimeecartier
      June 29, 2014

      Honestly I can’t imagine why the mailman wouldn’t have liked it. I must not be imagining it correctly. Let me know if you make another something. Send a pic!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 24, 2014 by in Arts and Crafts, Home and garden and tagged , , , .
